Mason Ho in the barrel at Padang Padang Mason Ho in the barrel at Padang Padang

Related items

Monday, 18 June 2018 19:46

Ho, Freestone, Robinson receive invitations to Rip Curl Cup 2018 at Padang Padang, Bali

Rip Curl has officially announced the 16 surfers invited to compete in the Rip Curl Cup 2018


Keramas delivered. Uluwatu did not disappoint. And now the WSL returns to Bali’s world-class waves for the third time in 2018 for the highly anticipated Rip Curl Cup at Padang Padang

Surf fans around the world are counting down the days as the WSL prepares to bring Rip Curl’s one-of-a-kind invitational tube-riding event to a global audience for a third straight year.
Sixteen of the world’s top tube masters – eight of Indonesia’s finest and eight of the world’s best barrel riders – are ready to take over the show from the CT’s Top 34. And there is no greater show on surf than when the Indian Ocean delivers at Padang Padang.
“WSL are extremely excited for this year’s Rip Curl Cup at Padang Padang,” said Will Hayden-Smith, WSL Australia/Oceania Regional Manager. “There’s something really special about events like the Rip Curl Cup that only run when mother nature produces that one special day of waves, and we see who is at their best when the ocean is at its best. We will get to see a crop of the best tube riders from around the globe take on Indonesia’s finest at one of the world’s most mystical waves.”
With less than two weeks before the start of the event holding period, Rip Curl has officially announced the 16 surfers invited to compete in the Rip Curl Cup 2018, set to run on the best day of waves at Padang Padang between July 1st – 31st.
Among the world’s best barrel riders preparing to push the limits of tube-riding in pursuit of the prestigious title are former WCT performers turned barrel hunters Jack Freestone (AUS) and Damien Hobgood (USA), as well as Tube Tour kamikazes like Mason Ho (HAW), Jay Davies (AUS) and Jack Robinson (AUS). Among the national surfing heroes representing Indonesia are defending Rip Curl Cup Champion Mega Semadhi, Indonesian surfing ambassador and 2014 Rip Curl Cup Champion Garut Widiarta, and two-time Indonesian Champion Lee Wilson.
According to Rip Curl SEA Marketing Manager James Hendy, an invite to compete in the Rip Curl Cup isn’t about tour points, big-name sponsorships, or number of followers on social media. The sole criteria to get a shot at the Cup is performing at the highest level on the heaviest swells of the year at the planet’s most hollow waves.
“You have to have a proven track record in world-class tubes and waves of consequence, whether it be in boots and a 6mm wetsuit or in boardshorts at a mysto Indo reef,” Hendy said. “That means fans get to see renegade tube masters like Mason Ho, Jack Robinson, Jay Davies and Damo Hobgood face off against the underground legends that own their local slab on the best day of the year.”
Following are the 16 surfers invited to compete for the 2018 Rip Curl Cup:
International Surfers:
Jay Davies (AUS)
Jack Freestone (AUS)
Mason Ho (HAW)
Damien Hobgood (USA)
Gearoid McDaid (IRL)
Bruno Santos (BRA)
Jack Robinson (AUS)
Jacob Willcox (AUS)
Indonesian Surfers:
Bol Adi Putra
Mega Artana
Mustofa Jeksen
Alik Rudiarta
Mega Semadhi
Agus “Blacky” Setiawan
Garut Widiarta
Lee Wilson
The 2018 Rip Curl Cup Padang Padang will be webcast live to the world at Fans can also visit the site to check the latest Padang swell forecast from official event forecaster Surfline, real-time contest status, and video updates from Bali.
Event Waiting Period
July 1st – 31st
Rip Curl Planet Beach Cleanup
Friday, June 29th at 8 AM, Padang Padang Beach, Bali
Opening Ceremony
Sunday, July 1st at 3 PM, Padang Padang Beach, Bali
1. Meet the surfers
2. Press conference
3. Traditional Balinese Kecak Dance
Official Rip Curl Cup Party
Friday, July 27th 
Live performance by special guest at Ulu Cliff House
Scroll To Top